Surf Photography

So aren’t we all a little photographer of our own? One of the world’s most popular social media is Instagram. I know we’re all a little addicted to it, don’t deny it! Anyway, it consists of you taking the perfect picture to maintain the perfect follower score. I’m not gonna lie.. I’m a victim of posing around just to get a few followers, however there’s something that has caught my attention in the past few months.

At first surf photography was mainly a hobby. Not even a full hobby. It was a speck compared to other hobbies. That’s how small it meant to me. I did it out of fun and games, until a past few weeks, it became more of a weekly gig. Going out and shooting surfers in the ocean. Capturing people dancing on their boards as the ocean is their epitome of happiness.

Surf photography doesn’t come easy. First of all, all the gear is sky high expensive. I was lucky enough to have been handed down a water-housing for my Iphone 6s (yes, I photograph with my phone). Second of all, even if it’s only a water housing for an Iphone, it’s still bloody heavy and carrying something heavy in the middle of the ocean while surfers are wizzing past you? Nope. Not scary at all.

It’s handy to be a surfer myself and do surf photography, as it’s easier to read the surfer, so I can avoid crashing into them, while I’m photographing. However I’m pretty sure most surf photographers are already surfers though. Anyway, I totally side tracked talking about surf photography rather than saying why exactly I’m doing this.

Surf photography makes me happy. It’s that simple really. Not only does it make me so excited when I capture a good photograph of someone, but handing the photographs to the surfers (for free of course) and having them be thankful is such a great feeling. The whole concept of capturing a moment that happens only in a few seconds? Incredible! The whole idea of photography is great, but surf photography is even greater (sorry).

So it’s official. I’m dedicating my time into making other people happy and preserving that moment for them of them surfing. Most of the photography is up on my Instagram under Samia Thulin, however I will make a page on my blog dedicated souly on surf photography.

Leave a comment